Some Common Errors in Stereo 3D

Alfie Albert at Baker Street station
“Now, where’s that 3rd dimension gone?”

Here’s a freebie download from me! This is a video I created as a teaching aid when I taught Stereo 3D to MAs and staff at Ravensbourne College.
There are nine short clips, each with a different 3D error. I played the video to the students, and then asked them to identify the error in each clip.

You can view it on YouTube here: https://youtu.be/VVGAlOLLiJo

Screen Shot 2015-10-11 at 19.04.29

And you are free to download the original HD file here:
https://mega.nz/#!Ssog3SQB!-JMxuW_az3njNEQRiyca3-Ru28euVC7RdIUWhcpB4ic (320MB)
Note: to download click the BLUE TEXT beneath the red button!

This was recorded with two Canon 105s in SBS mode converged about 8ft away. IA=4″

Here’s what I did in the classroom:

I first show ① ‘Raw’ and explain that this is straight from camera, but I’ve made some minor vertical and horizontal shifts to line the images up, and a small zoom in to eliminate cropping. Can the students spot anything else that may still need correcting?
I pause/repeat the video while they consider. They’re unlikely to see anything relevant, but it depends on who they are.
I then show ② to ⑨ saying that I have introduced some kind of error in each, and ask if they can spot what it may be.

The errors are:
① Raw (no errors added)
② Color differences between L & R
③ One eye soft
④ Vertical disparity
⑤ Out of sync
⑥ Rotational disparity
⑦ Zoom disparity
⑧ L & R reversed
⑨ Raw (same as 1)

I then ask them to look more closely at 9 and see if they can spot any errors they missed before.
There’s at least three!


The actor is the most excellent Alfie Albert
Video extract is from ‘3DTango’

*and please DON’T remove my name from the video!

.

Leave a Reply

